You ask – we answer

What are the critical factors for coating success? What does KOMET RHOBEST have to know for the coating and what does the user have to know?

    • Carbide composition:
      Specification of the carbide manufacturer and the carbide designation as well as specification of the share of WC/binding material/mixed carbide and grit size.
    • Specification of the material used and machining process
    • Specification of the desired coating length
    • Suitability of the tool for coating:
      If the tool is soldered, the solder must be able to resist a coating temperature of at least 750°C. This requires technical clarification in advance. Does the tool have cooling channels? If these cooling channels contain dirt or sintering residue, this could evaporate during coating, with a negative effect on the coating results. Is the tool geometry suitable? Technical clarification is necessary before certain forms can be coated. If tolerances have to be kept, we recommend clarifying the possibility of coating with us in advance on the basis of a tool drawing with exact tolerance specifications.
    • Packaging: The tools should always be dispatched in their original packaging, surrounded by bubble wrap in a suitable box, filled with sufficient foam filling material in order to avoid damage during transport.



    Why does KOMET RHOBEST need the exact composition of the carbide?


    The binding material contained in the carbide (usually cobalt or nickel) prevents the growth of pure diamond and/or converts the discharged diamond to graphite phase. This makes it necessary to remove these elements from the zone near the surface of the tool by wet-chemical preliminary treatment before coating. This depletion zone differs for each carbide, depending on the composition. To guarantee optimum diamond coating, the cobalt-free zone must be just large enough for the carbide not to become brittle in this area and not to disturb diamond growth. For this reason, the exact share of all elements (particularly cobalt) must be known.
    Thanks to our long years of expertise and constant development we have managed to coat even carbides with a high cobalt content (up to 20%) as standard.


    What are the advantages of the KOMET RHOBEST diamond layer compared with other CVD layers?

    The main difference is the nano-crystalline structure of the KOMET RHOBEST diamond layer. The small size of the crystals leads to outstanding layer adhesion (even with ultra-fine grit carbide types), smoothness and the achievement of sharp cutting edges.


    What are the main differences between the KOMET RHOBEST diamond layer and DLC layers?


    With DLC ("diamond-like-carbon") layers, part of the carbon sp2 is hybridised, in other words the material contains shares of graphite or amorphous carbon. Depending on the type, only parts of the carbon is crystalline, the rest is amorphous. This makes DLC layers softer than the KOMET RHOBEST layer (which is made up 100% of sp3 hybridised carbon) and thus only of limited value as protection against abrasive wear.


    Which materials can be coated?

    See our current carbide list. Carbides which are not included in this list are subjected to optimisation through preliminary treatment before "regular" coating. During this process, the principle suitability of the carbide type is checked on the basis of an exactly defined procedure, and the optimum preliminary treatment variant is prepared. Trial tools are required for this purpose. These must have the same surface and cut properties as the "original tool" (quantity according to agreement). The optimisation process takes about 4 to 6 weeks and is a free service for our customers against provision of the tools and test results.


    What criteria are used to prepare the carbide list? Why is the list changing all the time?

    The carbide list contains all those carbide types sent to KOMET RHOBEST in large quantities for diamond coating which have proved their optimum suitability in practical use in customer applications. We update this list once a month on the basis of the current frequency distribution. If you cannot find the carbide you are looking for on this list, please contact us. We have long years of experience in coating more than 100 carbide types and will be happy to advise you.


    Can a tool that has already been used and re-ground be coated again?


    In principle, it is possible to coat re-ground tools. However, optimum layer adhesion can only be guaranteed for those surfaces which are 100% free of previous coats.


    It is possible to remove the KOMET RHOBEST diamond layer completely from tools which have already been coated?

    So-called complete layer removal without damaging the carbide structure of the tool is not possible at present due to the perfect adhesion of the diamond layer.


    Which layer thicknesses are usually achieved?


    The standard layer thickness of the KOMET RHOBEST diamond layer is usually 5 µm depending on the diameter of the tool. On account of the nano-crystalline structure – the individual diamond crystals have edge lengths of a few nm (=0.000001 mm) – the layer is closed from a thickness of only around 100 nm. From an order volume where the coating line is completely filled, the layer thickness can be set to an accuracy of +/- 10%. On customer request, special layers can be produced, the thickness of which deviates from the usual thickness.


    How high is the friction coefficient of the KOMET RHOBEST diamond layer?

    The friction coefficient of the KOMET RHOBEST diamond layer was determined during a bearing treatment application, the values measured were 10% lower than the friction coefficient of Teflon. Friction coefficient is defined as the ratio between two forces. The force required to move one body against another is set in relation with the force required to press this body against the surface. This value is 0.04 for Teflon (dimensionless value).


    How are the costs calculated?

    For cost calculation, the are the tool takes up in the coating line is the factor which is mainly relevant. In the case of rotating tools, the respectively largest diameter is decisive. A milling cutter with blade diameter 3 mm and shank diameter 6 mm is calculated using the price for a 6 mm diameter. In addition, the coating prices also depend on the length to be coated, which means that the coating length must be quoted with every order. Please note that the overall length of the tool is not used to calculate the coating price.

Sie fragen – Wir antworten

Was sind die kritischen Faktoren für einen Beschichtungserfolg? Was muss KOMET RHOBEST für die Beschichtung und was muss der Anwender wissen?

  • Zusammensetzung des Hartmetalls:
    Angabe des HM-Herstellers und der HM-Bezeichnung sowie Angabe des Anteils WC/Bindermaterial/ Mischkarbide und der Korngröße.
  • Angabe des Einsatzmaterials und der Bearbeitung
  • Angabe der gewünschten Beschichtungslänge
  • Eignung des Werkzeugs zur Beschichtung:
    Ist das Werkzeug gelötet, muss das Lot einer Beschichtungstemperatur von zumindest 750°C stand halten. Es bedarf hier vorab einer technischen Klärung. Weist das Werkzeug Kühlkanäle auf? Sollten diese Kühlkanäle Schmutz- oder Sinterreste aufweisen, kann es während der Beschichtung zu Abdampfungen kommen, die sich negativ auf das Beschichtungsergebnis auswirken. Ist die Geometrie des Werkzeuges geeignet? Bei bestimmten Formen bedarf es vor der Beschichtung einer technischen Klärung. Müssen Toleranzen eingehalten werden, empfiehlt es sich, anhand einer Werkzeugzeichnung mit genauen Toleranzangaben die Möglichkeit einer Beschichtung mit uns abzuklären.
  • Verpackung: Die Werkzeuge sollten ausschließlich in Originalverpackung, umhüllt mit Luftpolsterfolie in einem passenden Karton, gefüllt mit genügend Schaumstofffüllmaterial versendet werden, um Beschädigungen während des Transportes zu vermeiden.



Wozu benötigt KOMET RHOBEST die genaue Zusammensetzung des Hartmetalls?


Das im Hartmetall enthaltene Bindermaterial (meistens Kobalt oder Nickel) verhindert das Wachstum von reinem Diamant bzw. wandelt den abgeschiedenen Diamant in die grafitische Phase um. Daher ist es notwendig, durch nasschemische Vorbehandlung diese Elemente aus der oberflächennahen Zone des Werkzeuges zu entfernen. Diese Verarmungszone ist für jedes Hartmetall, abhängig von der Zusammensetzung, verschieden. Um eine optimale Diamantbeschichtung zu garantieren, muss die kobaltfreie Zone gerade so groß sein, dass das Hartmetall in diesem Bereich nicht spröde wird, das Diamantwachstum aber nicht gestört wird. Daher muss der exakte Anteil aller Elemente (speziell Kobalt) bekannt sein.
Dank unserer langjährigen Expertise und stetigen Entwicklung gelingt es uns, auch Hartmetalle mit hohem Kobaltgehalt (bis 20%) standardmäßig zu beschichten.


Worin liegen die Vorteile der KOMET RHOBEST Diamantschicht im Vergleich zu anderen CVD-Schichten?

Der Hauptunterschied liegt in der Nanokristallinität der KOMET RHOBEST Diamantschicht. Durch die Kleinheit der Kristalle sind hervorragende Schichthaftung (auch bei Ultrafeinstkorn-Hartmetallsorten), Glätte und die Erhaltung scharfer Schneiden gegeben.


Was sind die wesentlichen Unterschiede der KOMET RHOBEST Diamantschicht zu DLC-Schichten?


Bei DLC („Diamond-like-carbon“)-Schichten ist ein Teil des Kohlenstoffes sp2-hybridisiert, es sind also Anteile von Grafit oder amorphem Kohlenstoff enthalten. Je nach Typ sind nur Teile des Kohlenstoffes kristallin, der Rest ist amorph. Die DLC-Schichten sind dadurch weicher als die KOMET RHOBEST Schicht (die zu 100% aus sp3-hybridisierten Kohlenstoff besteht) und deshalb nur begrenzt als Schutz gegen abrasiven Verschleiß geeignet.


Welche Materialien können beschichtet werden?

Die aktuelle Aufstellung der empfohlenen Hartmetallsorten finden Sie in unserer Hartmetall-Liste. Hartmetalle, die nicht in dieser Liste enthalten sind, werden vor einer „regulären“ Beschichtung einer Optimierung der Vorbehandlung unterzogen. In diesem Prozess wird anhand eines genau definierten Ablaufs die prinzipielle Eignung der Hartmetallsorte für die Diamantbeschichtung geprüft und die optimale Vorbehandlungsvariante erarbeitet. Dazu werden Versuchswerkzeuge benötigt, die die gleiche Oberflächen- und Schliffbeschaffenheit wie das „Originalwerkzeug“ aufweisen müssen (Stückzahl nach Abklärung). Die Optimierung dauert etwa 4 bis 6 Wochen und ist als Serviceleistung für unsere Kunden, gegen Bereitstellung der Werkzeuge und der Testergebnisse, kostenlos.


Nach welchen Kriterien wird die Hartmetall-Liste erstellt? Warum ändert sich die Liste laufend?

Die Hartmetall-Liste enthält eine Aufstellung jener Hartmetallsorten, die in großen Mengen bei KOMET RHOBEST zur Diamantbeschichtung gelangen und die sich im Praxiseinsatz bei unseren Kunden optimal bewährt haben. Wir aktualisieren diese Liste einmal im Monat aufgrund der aktuellen Häufigkeitsverteilung. Wenn Sie ein bestimmtes Hartmetall nicht auf dieser Liste finden, setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung. Wir haben langjährige Erfahrung in der Beschichtung von über 100 Hartmetallsorten und beraten Sie gerne.


Kann ein bereits eingesetztes und nachgeschliffenes Werkzeug wiederbeschichtet werden?


Das Beschichten von nachgeschliffenen Werkzeugen ist prinzipiell möglich. Optimale Schichthaftung kann jedoch nur für die Flächen gewährleistet werden, die zu 100% frei von vorhergehenden Schichten sind.


Ist die vollständige Entfernung der KOMET RHOBEST Diamantschicht von bereits beschichteten Werkzeugen möglich?

Eine sogenannte, vollständige Entschichtung, ohne dass die Hartmetallstruktur des Werkzeuges Schaden nimmt, ist aufgrund der perfekten Haftung der Diamantschicht derzeit nicht möglich.


Welche Schichtdicken werden üblicherweise erreicht?


Die Standardschichtdicke der KOMET RHOBERST Diamantschicht beträgt in der Regel, abhängig vom Werkzeugdurchmesser, 5 µm. Aufgrund der nanokristallinen Struktur – die einzelnen Diamantkristalle haben Kantenlängen von einigen nm (=0,000001mm) – ist die Schicht schon ab einer Stärke von rund 100 nm geschlossen. Ab einem Bestellvolumen, bei dem die Beschichtungs-Anlage komplett gefüllt ist, kann die Schichtstärke mit einer Genauigkeit von +/- 10% eingestellt werden. Auf Wunsch des Kunden können Sonderschichten hergestellt werden, deren Dicke vom üblichen Maß abweicht.


Wie hoch ist der Reibwert der KOMET RHOBEST Diamantschicht?

Der Reibwert der KOMET RHOBEST Diamantschichten wurde bei einer Anwendung in der Lagervergütung bestimmt, die dabei gemessenen Werte unterschritten den Reibwert von Teflon um ca. 10%. Als Reibwert wird hierbei das Verhältnis zweier Kräfte definiert. Es wird die Kraft, die benötigt wird, um einen Körper gegenüber einem anderen zu verschieben, in Relation mit der Kraft mit der dieser Körper gegen die Unterlage gepresst wird, gesetzt. Für Teflon beträgt dieser Wert 0,04 (dimensionslose Zahl).


Wie werden die Kosten berechnet?

Für die Kostenkalkulation ist im Wesentlichen die Fläche relevant, die das Werkzeug in der Beschichtungsanlage einnimmt. Bei rotierenden Werkzeugen ist daher der jeweils größte Durchmesser ausschlaggebend. Ein Fräser mit Schneidendurchmesser 3mm und Schaftdurchmesser 6mm wird daher mit dem Preis Durchmesser 6 berechnet. Daneben sind die Beschichtungspreise auch von der zu beschichtenden Länge abhängig, daher muss bei jeder Bestellung die Beschichtungslänge angegeben sein. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Gesamtlänge des Werkzeuges für die Berechnung des Beschichtungspreises nicht herangezogen wird.